Just a little profound today…….

On Tuesday of this week, my Mother’s oldest brother passed away.     I got thinking, what must it be like to lose a sibling.    I have been SOOO blessed to have not experienced this type of loss, so was imaging it through my mother’s eyes.    While he was 82 and she is 79, I thought how it must knock on the door of mortality, and if nothing else, bring on some nostalgia.

Today is Thanksgiving in the US, as we all know.    And today I am thankful for a blessed life, for the health of my beautiful sisters and the part they play in my life.

Here they(we) are.

                                           sisters

and before my time – my sisters and our Dad while doing some fine livin’ at the cottage.

                                                      dad and sisters

and because it’s Thanksgiving, something beautiful and warm.

                                            fall-accessories-MEDIUM

Happy Thanks-Giving.

6 Comments

Filed under Life

6 responses to “Just a little profound today…….

  1. Again, my condolences go out to your mother. I am also blessed to have never experienced losing a sibling, and I can’t imagine what it would be like (nor do I want to imagine it).

    Love the picture of you and your sisters (and love the Susan banner).

    • Thanks Michelle. The pic was grade 6 and my Confirmation. We made those ‘banners’ and then had to wear them the day of. Grade 6 teacher was trying to be creative I guess. 🙂

  2. Leslie Robertson

    Oh my gosh! I love the old family photos…your “Susan” scarf is my FAVOURITE! You were such a cute kid…and you are right…I also have never experienced losing a sibling (thank goodness) can’t imagine how hard this must be no matter what age they pass away. Sorry to hear about the loss in your family…

    • Thanks Les. By the way that is NOT a scarf. It’s a banner we made and wore around our neck at our Confirmation – that picture was taken when I was in grade 6 and it was my Confirmation. I’m loving the internio decorating myself 🙂

  3. So sorry to hear about the passing of your Mother’s Brother Sue.

Leave a Reply

